A New Friend and an Interesting Seattle Tour

Today, I was able to get started on my project at work.  I think it will be interesting, just a little monotonous.  I hope that I can get used to getting up so early.  Rosemary, the other intern, and I sit and yawn all day long because we have to get up so early to be to work by 8.  I know that may not be early to some of you, but I am not a morning person.  This feels like torture! And because of the documents, we cannot eat or drink when we are working with them, which means we can’t even snack to wake up.

As soon as I got off work, I made the 50-minute rush hour drive back to my apartment, so that I could get ready to meet Sam.  He is a friend of a friend that has lived in the Seattle area for the past three years and is an architect.  Because he is familiar with the area, his dad volunteered him to show me around.  Luckily for me, Sam didn’t mind being volunteered. 🙂

We met at 6 at the top of the steps at the courtyard of my apartments.  We ended up walking around for 3 hours.  I think that he forgot that I am not a Seattlite and am not accustomed to hiking of these mountains they call streets.  By the time we got back home, I was afraid that I was going to need a stretcher to take me up to my apartment!

We started out walking tour by going into the Seattle Public Library, which is located only a couple of blocks from my apartment.  It was designed by a world-famous Dutch architect and was funded my a multi-million dollar bond project by the city.  It was very neat to see.  I’m sure that I will become a regular there this summer.

After that he basically showed me around the Downtown area, pointing out interesting buildings, telling me unique stories about the history of Seattle, and giving me pointers about which area to visit or avoid.  We were able to see the entrance to Poineer Square, which is where Seattle began.  The story behind the strange street directions is that the two main settlers of Seattle could not agree as to how they wanted the streets to be laid out.  So when the streets met, they created this odd triangle shape area that was “leftover.”  They never made streets over this section, so it became a city square, where the main activities took place in old Seattle.

We ended the “tour” by walking down to Puget Sound.  There are several restaurants on the wharf that are converted from warehouses that were owned by the Port.  One of the most famous is Ivar’s.  He was a Norwegian fisherman that was quite cantankerous and always against anything that the city wanted.  He encouraged the tourists to feed the seagulls, and the city got mad since they are pests.  So he got back at them by creating a statue of him feeding the seagulls!  This statue is located outside of the fish stand at the wharf.

Overall, it was a very interesting day!  Now, I’m going to rest up from my strenuous walking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

