The Godless Girl – 1929

Tonight, I went with Rosemary to the Paramount Theater to see a showing of the 1929 silent film The Godless Girl directed by Cecil B. DeMille.  It was a dramatic film about Atheism vs. Christianity.  This was DeMille’s last silent film (the first sound film had already been filmed 2 years previously), and his last film for the company Pathe.  He later went on to work for MGM and eventually Paramount.  The showing was accompanied by the great organist, Jim Riggs, who is the staff organist at the Paramount Theater located in Oakland, CA.   It was as if I had traveled back in time to the 1920s.  It was an amazing experience!

P.S. I forgot to bring my camera tonight, so I was unable to take pictures of the theater.  I think that we are going to go again next Monday, so I will take pictures then. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

