Days off are great!

Today, I was off in order to celebrate Independence Day, so I took advantage of the opportunity to sleep in and enjoy a lazy day.  Rosemary and I got together around 1 so that we could eat lunch together and do a little shopping.  We began our day by visiting the Elliot Bay Book Company.  This is THE bookstore to visit when you are in Seattle.  They had a huge selection of everything from fiction to Northwest books, both new and used.  We browsed through the shelves for an hour or so, then we ate lunch in the cafe that is housed in the basement.  It was probably the best sandwich I have ever had.

Afterwards, we went to the Glasshouse Studio.  This was my favorite part of the day!  The studio was filled with brightly-colored blown glass creations.  Visitors are able to watch the artists as they create new pieces of art.  It was utterly fascinating.  I bought a small votive for my apartment.  I can’t wait to get back to see it in my living room.

Then we walked through a little waterfall garden that was built by UPS.  The plaque outside stated that this was the birthplace of UPS.  I had no idea that UPS began in Seattle!  Then we went into a vintage pottery shop.  It was interesting.  It was basically old dishes that were really expensive.  For instance, there was a small plate that was priced at $75!  On our way back towards my apartment, we went into a vintage postcard and photograph shop.  I thought it was going to be really neat, but it was really disorganized, and there was no way to actually look at anything unless you know what you wanted.

Then because it was really hot (for Seattle), we decided that we needed some gelato to cool off.  I think I could eat that all the time.  I have been wanting to get some flowers for my apartment, so we walked to Pike Place Market so that I could buy some before my sisters come to visit me.  They mark all of the flowers down toward the end of the day, so I was able to get a really nice bouquet for only $5!

Leave a Reply

