Cairo – Day 19

~I’m sorry that it has taken me so long to post my last post.  I caught a cold on the way back and have been battling that and jetlag! 😦 ~

We left Cairo International Airport at 11:35pm Saturday night.  We landed in New York City at 6:15am Sunday morning.  The flight from Cairo to JFK was just over 12 hours, about two hours longer than our flight to Cairo.  Thankfully, I was able to sleep for about 6 ½ hours on the flight.  They fed us supper once we got on the plane and breakfast before we landed at JFK.  Getting through customs wasn’t too bad.  It was relatively painless, except the customs agent had to be rude about my Henna tattoo! Obviously, he was not on the job to make friends! We had to pick up our baggage and go back through security checkpoints before we boarded our plane to Atlanta.  It took almost an hour before our bags appeared! We thought they hadn’t made the trip!  By the time we got our bags, we only had about 45 minutes before our plane left at 8:15.  Thankfully, one of the airport employees let us move to the head of the line at security, or we would not have made our flight.

Once we got to Atlanta, we had over 5 hours before our flight to Shreveport.  By that time, the time difference had hit me, and I was just ready to be home so that I could sleep.  We landed in Shreveport at 5:30pm, which was over 24 hours after we had left Cairo! Needless to say, I slept like a baby that night.

I had an unbelievable time on my trip to Egypt and thoroughly enjoyed making new friends! I tried to do everything possible since I have no idea when I will be able to go back to visit.  It certainly gave me a new perspective on living in the US after having traveled to a developing country.  There are so many things that we take for granted but are considered luxuries for citizens of other countries!  I will always treasure the memories that I made on this trip.

I hope all of you who have been following my blog have enjoyed hearing about my adventures in Cairo! If you ever have the chance to go to Egypt, I would highly recommend it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

