Day Two: Musk ox and family

It rained all day Sunday, so we spent the day inside. The temperature stayed around 57 degrees. After having a relaxing morning spent around the hotel, we went to the airport to pick up a rental car for the day and I decided to feed a musk ox!Musk ox

Okay. So maybe the musk ox is no longer alive. But I think this is the Best. Picture. Ever. Daddy and I crack up at it every single time. lol

We spent the afternoon visiting with Grandma and Aunt Paulina and had a really good time. Aunt Paulina brought smsalmonoked salmon that was caught last week. Oh my goodness! Delicious! Then she made a dip out of it by just adding mayonnaise and spreading it on a cracker. So good. She is sending some smoked salmon back with us. 🙂 She is also planning to make pickled salmon later this week, and they started thawing some muktuk (raw whale blubber) for us to eat later this week.

I got to watch Grandma use her ulu to cut up the muktuk. I told her she needs to teach me how to use my ulu as well as she!

IMG_6078

The apartment building where Grandma lives has lots of Alaska Native art on display. This carving is made from carvingwhale bone.

We got to meet and see a few of her neighbors while we were there visiting her, including this lady “walking her dog.” Hilarious! IMG_6073

Three weeks ago a black bear came up onto the back patio of their apartment building so there were signs warning residents to watch out for bears and moose. I would be scared to run into one in the open, but I really hope that I get to see them while I’m here.IMG_6075

Who would have thought that I would be the tallest one in the group?! 🙂 Grandma is on the left and Aunt Paulina, one of her younger sisters is on the right.

IMG_6082IMG_6083

Leave a Reply

