Málaga: Day one

I began my journey to Málaga in Little Rock at 10:28 am Monday morning, had a three-and-a-half- hour layover in Atlanta, and arrived in Paris at 6:10 am Tuesday morning. I had hoped that I would be able to sleep on the plane but that wasn’t the case. After going through security for a second time at Paris and making it through customs, I had another 4 1/2 hours of free time before my final leg to Málaga. The Charles de Gaulle Airport is a huge airport with lots of shops, so I had plenty to keep me busy–makeup, handbags, clothing, perfume, tea, and duty-free. You could tell it was an older airport, but they had modernized parts of it, including the women’s restroom. I think my favorite part was the Yamaha piano that was available for anyone to play. It was tempting, but I didn’t play it. I finally boarded my flight in Paris and was able to sleep the whole two hour flight to Málaga, a much needed rest. Once I landed, I went to international baggage claim, which was probably the most unorganized mess. There were four carousels and only one had any signage letting passengers know which flight was being unloaded. After 45 minutes of waiting with no bag in sight I finally spoke to the border policeman and asked what I could do. I  ended up having to file a claim with the airline, but when I did, the agent told me that my bag was the only one that they had been able to locate, and it was already on the next plane. I was so thankful that a nightmare was averted. They delivered my bag by 8 this evening. It was so good to see Elizabeth!  Once I got to Elizabeth’s apartment and freshened up, we walked to get lunch and had delicious kebabs. Elizabeth was able to order for us in Spanish. 🙂 After lunch we took the bus downtown and did some shopping and sightseeing. The wooden chairs in the street are part of set-up for next week’s Holy Week activities that include parades, processionals and costumes. Unfortunately, when we got to the beautiful square, it was full of bleachers. Now I’m off to bed to catch up on my sleep.

2 thoughts on “Málaga: Day one

  1. Thanks for letting me share the trip with you. Know you will enjoy the rest of your time there! Love you both!

Leave a Reply

